Menu Monday and Brownies

Happy December! Winter weather has struck here with cloudy, rainy, windy, cold days. I have enjoyed my coffee with homemade french vanilla creamer by the fire in the mornings. Hope you Christmas season has gotten off to a great start!

I was back in the kitchen cooking this week and made a few treats as well. To start my morning I made french vanilla creamer. So yummy and much better than plain milk or anything store-bought. I baked some pumpkin bread to enjoy with the coffee and whipped up some chocolate chip cookies for the kids.

As far as dinner are concerned I tried a new recipe for a spicy linguine. SO YUMMY!

Teriyaki chicken and rice is a family favorite so I made sure I had that for the kids to eat this week.

My nephew was here for Friday night and he made a batch of homemade tortillas for our burritos on Friday night while we watched Christmas specials.

To end the week I had a greek salad.

But my favorite part of the week was munching on the brownies. It has been awhile since I have eaten a brownie. It was delish to eat a warm brownie with a nice glass of cold milk!

Since we all have parties to attend or school parties to send a goodie to I thought you might enjoy the brownie recipe. It is simple and you can add any garnish to it.

Chocolate Chips, other candies, nuts, the list can be endless.

Brownies

Combine: 1/4 t baking soda and 1/2 t cream of tartar, set aside

Mix together: 2 eggs, 1 teaspoon vanilla and 3/4 c Turbino sugar, 1/2 canola oil

Sift together: 3/4 c sweet ground chocolate, 2/3 c non-enriched wheat flour, 1/4 t sea salt, and 1/4 t baking soda nd cream of tartar mixture

Add the dry ingredients to the egg mixture and mix until well combined.

Stir in any additional extras and stir.

Pour into a 9″ greased pan and bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

*NOTE: It may take less than 30 minutes depending on your oven. Check at 25 minutes.

With the weather turning colder I plan to make some warm comfort food this week.  I have the ingredients to make chicken and dumplings, potato soup and some pepper biscuits with gravy. I would love to hear from you and what recipe you are interested in for my post next Monday!

Have a great week!

Tags: ,

Categories: Baking & Cooking, Menu Monday, Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

