Menu Monday

This past week I did quite a bit of baking and trying new items. My sweet tooth has definitely enjoyed the week.

The dinner meals this past week have included:

Buttermilk waffles

Pizza

Spaghetti Carbonaro

Sesame Chicken ( I am still working on this recipe. I want it to be spicy…but it is so good anyway!!)

Taco Salad (homemade chips and white queso)

I also whipped up a cinnamon cake to enjoy with my coffee in the mornings!

On Sunday we had a brunch at church. I made a new dish that I had never tried before and it was a hit! I am going to have to make it for Christmas morning breakfast. It really is easy, it does take a bit of time because I made my own french bread in the bread machine first.

I thought you would also like a yummy breakfast for Christmas too! All of it is done the night before and you just pop it into the oven.

Crème Brule  French Toast

1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
2 tablespoons maple syrup
8 (1 inch) slices French bread
1 1/2 cups half n half
5 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 orange squeezed

1/4 teaspoon salt

Heat sugar, butter, and maple syrup in saucepan until blended, stirring
frequently.

Pour sugar mixture into a 9×13 inch baking dish.

Arrange bread slices in single layer over prepared layer.

Whisk the half n half, eggs, vanilla, orange juice, and salt in a bowl
until well blended.

Pour over bread, cover with foil and chill overnight.
Let stand until room temp.

Bake, uncovered, at 350 degrees, 35-40 minutes or until puffed and golden brown.

Serve immediately.

You can dust with powdered sugar or top with more Maple Syrup.

Tags: ,

Categories: Baking & Cooking, Menu Monday, Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

