Menu Monday: Homemade Vanilla

Good morning! Hope you had a great week.

Monday: Grilled chicken with black bean salsa and rice

Tuesday: Chili

Wednesday: Leftovers

Thursday: Spaghetti

Friday: Garbonzo Bean Salad

Saturday: Pizza

Since my kids are showing enthusiasm with wanting to cook and bake I am taking full advantage in teaching them. My oldest made a sour cream coffee cake…so good too!

This week was also time to make more vanilla. It is the simplest thing in the world to make.

It just takes time so you need to plan it well before you run out.

I used Mexican vanilla beans this time. I cannot wait to use the vanilla in my coffee creamer. I have been using vanilla with Madagascar beans.

Here is a taste description of different vanilla bean varieties.

Madagascar or Bourbon vanilla. This is the bean with the smooth, sweet flavor that’s typically available as extract in the United States.

Mexican vanilla. This has a very full flavor that’s often described as creamy and spicy.

Tahitian vanilla. These beans are known for their intense floral aroma.

All you need is vodka and beans. The general rule is 1 bean to 3 cups vodka.

Split the beans length wise and place in bottle. Screw cap on tightly and let sit. Once a week maybe give it a shake. Within a couple of weeks you will notice the color changing. You can use at any point after 2 weeks but for a fuller, more intense flavor wait 2-3 months.

My favorite vodka to use, and it is corn free, is a potato vodka from Austria..Monopolowa. It is also rather inexpensive, also a plus!

Well I have a busy week of cooking and baking for an upcoming project so I better get to it. I certainly hope the office staff at the kid’s school is not on a diet since I plan to take most of the goodies there so I am not eating all of it.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Menu Monday

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

