Maybe it is all another food allergy!

A few months ago I had a conversation with a nurse as I was searching for some corn free supplements. We chatted about my history of tests, what my allergy is and my hypothyroidism disorder. She strongly suggested I should be tested for gluten antibodies. At the time I was about to burst into tears. It was not a good time to learn a new allergy. things were stressful and it was right before Christmas and I did not want to know and have to change my plans for Christmas treats and dinner.

However, this week I have been thinking I need to go forward and have this test. I am still searching for why certain things are not changing or improving when I have been working hard, doing all the right things for so long. Not to mention I still have some symptoms of food allergies and I know I am not corning myself.

This weekend I have read a few articles that make sense to me and I want to share them with you.

The gluten-thyroid connection

In this article we’re going to discuss the connection between autoimmune thyroid disease (AITD) and gluten intolerance.

Several studies show a strong link between AITD (both Hashimoto’s and Graves’) and gluten intolerance. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]  The link is so well-established that researchers suggest all people with AITD be screened for gluten intolerance, and vice versa.

What explains the connection?  It’s a case of mistaken identity.  The molecular structure of gliadin, the protein portion of gluten, closely resembles that of the thyroid gland. When gliadin breaches the protective barrier of the gut, and enters the bloodstream, the immune system tags it for destruction.  These antibodies to gliadin also cause the body to attack thyroid tissue.  This means if you have AITD and you eat foods containing gluten, your immune system will attack your thyroid.

Click the link above or here to continue reading. This article is what makes sense to at least get checked out!

9 Strategies to Conquering Food Cravings

Find Out About Hidden Food Allergies. These can trigger cravings. If you have an allergy to wheat gluten or milk and you eat wheat or dairy products, the allergy can reduce blood flow to the brain and impair your judgment. Subtle but important food allergies can result in brain inflammation that contributes to poor brain health. Conventional medicine has tended to ignore such reactions, which can occur up to several days after consuming the item in question.

To identify food allergies, eliminate dairy, wheat, sugar, food additives, preservatives and artificial flavorings or colors from your diet for 1–2 months. Then slowly reintroduce these items one at a time every 3–4 days to determine whether a new item triggers problems. When you introduce a food, eat it at least two or three times a day for 3 days to see if you notice a reaction (stop immediately if you do). Symptoms may include brain fog, difficulty remembering, mood issues (anxiety, depression and anger), nasal congestion, headaches, sleep problems, joint aches, muscle aches, pain, fatigue, skin changes and changes in digestion and bowel functioning.

The symptoms listed above I experience when I am corned, plus a few other, less desireable symptoms. Lately, I have been experiencing brain fog and lack of concentration like crazy. At times listening to me talk is almost comedic…I cannot find the words let alone get them out of my mouth. The fatigue is painful. Joint pain in my hands is unpleasant and I have been tested for arthritis and that came back negative. Anxiety has been a crazy rollercoaster as well. Most people think a gluten intolerance only affects your GI system but what I have learned over the last few days is that it’s only one symptom.

Food Addiction: Could it Explain Why 70 Percent of America is Fat?

The “just say no” approach to drug addiction hasn’t fared to well. It won’t work for our industrial food addiction either. Tell a cocaine or heroin addict or an alcoholic to “just say no” after that first snort, shot, or drink. It’s not that simple. There are specific biological mechanisms that drive addictive behavior. Nobody chooses to be a heroin addict, cokehead, or drunk. Nobody chooses to be fat either. The behaviors arise out of primitive neurochemical reward centers in the brain that override normal will power and overwhelm our ordinary biological signals that control hunger. Consider:

  • Why do cigarette smokers continue to smoke even though they know smoking will give them cancer and heart disease?
  • Why do less than 20 percent of alcoholics successfully quit drinking?
  • Why do most addicts continue to use cocaine and heroin despite their lives being destroyed?
  • Why does quitting caffeine lead to irritability and headaches?

It is because these substances are all biologically addictive.

Why is it so hard for obese people to lose weight despite the social stigma and health consequences such as high blood pressure, diabetes, heart disease, arthritis, and even cancer even though they have an intense desire to lose weight? It is not because they WANT to be fat. It is because certain types of food are addictive.

Food made of sugar, fat, and salt can be addictive. Especially when combined in secret ways the food industry will not share or make public. We are biologically wired to crave these foods and eat as much of them as possible. We all know about cravings, but what does the science tell us about food and addiction, and what are the legal and policy implications if certain food is, in fact, addictive?

It is interesting to read why food is as addictive as drugs are alcohol. Anyway, now that I think I should be tested I just need to walk myself into the office and ask for the kit and prepare myself for the possibility of changing my pantry again, preparing things differently and being OK with it all.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Life

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Maybe it is all another food allergy!”

  1. February 27, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    There is a range of reactions to gluten ranging from gluten sensitivity to Celiac’s. About 30 percent of the USA population carry the genes for gluten intolerance and a portion of those convert to Celiac’s. A lot more people are triggering both Celiac’s and gluten intolerance simply because so much processed foods contain gluten. Like corn, gluten is difficult to avoid in modern diets. Once sensitivity is triggered, there’s no going back.

    After doing a ton of research I opted for gene testing through Enterolab.I knew that the usual Celiac blood tests would be inconclusive in my case. Blood tests can rule Celiac’s ‘in’ but not ‘out’. Gene testing combined with some other tests from Enterolab was much more definitive and showed I was indeed reacting to both gluten and casein. I feel gene testing is much more reliable for determining gluten related illness.

    Getting this information was actually a huge relief to me as it pointed the way to improving my health by altering what I ate. Now don’t get me wrong, making the diet change was indeed difficult, but after 2 years I am seeing substantial improvement in health.

    While I don’t have a corn allergy, I’d have to say that corn avoidance requires the strictest vigilance. If it turns out that you are also gluten intolerant, making that added modification will be somewhat easier. Corn is in nearly every processed food, followed by wheat.

    I myself follow a Paleo diet (see Dr. Loren Cordain’s work) which eliminates grains from the diet and thus eliminates the triggers to many major food intolerances. I have found the Paleo eating plan to be much easier to follow than the conventional ‘gluten-free, casein-free’ recommendations.

    I really encourage you to look into ‘Paleo’ diets/eating plans to deal with grain related allergies and intolerances. Nowadays there are a ton of great Paleo recipe sites online and an increasing number of resources available. Cordain’s book has the most medical information, but Mark Sisson’s and Robb Wolf’s Paleo books are very worthwhile. All have web sites with tons of info.

    • Bronwyn
      February 27, 2012 at 11:06 am #

      Thanks Jean. Luckily, with corn I do not eat anything processed. If I have gluten issues I believe only my flour and pasta need to be changed. I appreciate the inof and will look into it.

Leave a Reply

