Menu Monday: Veggie Score last night!

My menu this last week was not much of one. Hubbie was on a trip, I made a few meals and we ate leftovers because I did spent quite a bit of time in the kitchen cooking foods just to get a picture of them for my upcoming cookbook. During the week I mainly ate veggies and fruit. The few things I fixed were Red beans and Rice, Spaghetti Carbonaro, and picadillo.

The picadillo was a hit. I almost made half because I figured it would take effort getting the kids to eat it. They all had seconds and no one complained! Picadillo was a meal that was brought to me after having #4 and last night was the first time I made it. It is super easy and can be so versatile. A dish you can hide veggies in.

Picadillo

2 lbs. ground beef

2 small red potatoes, chopped

several baby carrots, chopped

Taco seasoning

Tortillas (cooked in oven till crispy @375 degrees, you want it to be like a tostado )

cheese, diced tomatoes, salsa, sour cream or any other favorite toppings.

Cook the beef over medium heat, drain grease. Add taco seasoning and about 3/4 c water.

Meanwhile, cook chopped veggies in a small pot of boiling water. Let cook until veggies are tender. Mix veggies with meat.

Top crispy tortilla with meat mixture and desired toppings.

Change up the recipe with your favorite veggies!

Tags: , ,

Categories: Menu Monday, Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

