Menu, busy week and a Chutney Sauce

Happy March!

This past week was busy and tiring. We had company, cooked a lot, and I am working on a party as well. I do that gig on the side for now at Beyond The Decorations. AND, hubbie and I attended Middle School Orientation meetings. ACK! We cannot believe our oldest is going to start middle school next year.

All of the cooking this week centered around taking pictures of the food. I even made breakfast 2 days this past week. Not something that happens here too often! But before I get to the menu here is a favorite recipe in our house!

Chicken Chutney

Grill or cook in skillet with a small amount of olive oil desired amount of chicken breasts and top with the tomato chutney sauce.

Sauce:

1 T butter

1 onion, chopped

4 c diced tomatoes (canned works well with this to save time and if you have safe ones)

1 green bell pepper, chopped

¾ c apple cider vinegar

½ cup brown sugar

½ t dry mustard

½ t ground ginger

Melt butter, add onion and pepper sautéing until tender. Add tomatoes and remaining ingredients. Simmer for 1 hour. It will thicken, stir occasionally.

For variety use pork or fish if you are able to eat it. I love this on Mahi Mahi as well.

MENU

Monday: Basil Pesto Pasta with herb chicken

Tuesday: Buffett night

Wednesday: Chicken Marsala, mashed potatoes and Blue Cheese Balls

Thursday: Date night! We dined at Bess Bistro

Friday: Breakfast: Creamed eggs, Dinner: Chicken Chutney, crescent rolls and squash

Saturday: Breakfast: Creme Brulee French toast, Dinner: Pizza night

In personal news I had more blood work done this morning and I sure hope I get some answers on Wednesday for how I am feeling. I have yet to take the gluten tests but I am going to. Still working on being OK with hearing the possibility that I am allergic to that as well.

Later this week we are going to talk pickles! I have made 4 jars each differing slightly and I have found the pickle I have missed since my allergy diagnosis and am in love.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Menu Monday, Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

