Menu: Stuffed Mushrooms

This past week was hectic and our weekend was even busier. I was rarely on the computer and I did not make anything new. Just simple, pleases everyone kind of meals. this week will be more of the crowd pleasing recipes as I begin the GF journey.

Monday: Chicken Pasta

Tuesday: Burgers and onion rings with steamed broccoli

Wednesday: Buffet night

Thursday: Pizza

Friday: Date night! I had the night off and went out to one of my few but favorite restaurants.

Saturday: Wine & Cheese

Sunday: Breakfast, eggs, bacon

Since Easter is this coming weekend I thought you might want a different type of recipe. The stuffed mushrooms can be as an appetizer or part of your meal. They are easy to make and so delish. If you cannot do sausage just replace it with a meat seasoned with italian herbs or even a dried cranberry would be tasty. We have made these before as our meal and just added a salad and either pasta or potatoes.

Sausage-Stuffed Mushrooms

3 Italian hot sausages, casings removed

1- ½ teaspoons dried oregano

1 cup parmesan cheese

½ teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

½ teaspoon garlic powder

1-8oz package of cream cheese, softened

1 egg yolk

Olive Oil

1/3 cup dry white wine

Large mushrooms, stemmed

Sauté sausage and oregano in skillet over med-high heat until cooked and brown; break into small pieces with fork. Transfer to a bowl and let cool. Mix sausage, cheese, Worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, cream cheese in a bowl. Season mixture with salt and pepper and stir in egg yolk.

Using a brush spread olive oil over a 13×9 baking dish. Place mushrooms in pan and brush each mushroom cap with white wine; fill with about 1 tablespoon of sausage mixture. Sprinkle with more parmesan cheese.

Bake for 25 minutes at 350 degrees.

Now, yesterday was the start of my 6 weeks to be gluten-free. Those of you who are know what I have to deal with, those of you who are both GFCF can we just cry for a bit? We cannot even shop in the gluten-free section since corn is used in most pre-made GF products. I bought 4 different flours yesterday and I still needs to find sorghum and/or guar gum just to be able to bake. I am leery about the taste and texture. I want a great french bread recipe. I do enjoy toasted garlic bread but I also love to make my own croutons to top my salads. Plus, a good brownie, cookie or cake recipe is needed. A bit of sweet on occasion is good. I am thankful for the internet, however, it is a lot to sort through to find a recipe that seems appealing.

As I find recipes, try them out and taste test I will share them here and my thoughts on them. So as a newbie to GF what do I need to know?

Tags: , ,

Categories: Life, Menu Monday

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

