Menu: Grilled Lamb rub and veggie marinade

I had a frustrating and interesting week. I tried to make some Gluten and Corn free baked goods. I burned cookies horribly, flopped 2 breads. One was like a brick, I could have defended myself with it, the other was all crumbs. I was not pleased with either.But I did make GFCF brownies and they were marvelous. My attempt to go GF is purely experimental. I had one issue that was my main complaint. Due to other circumstances I had to change a few products and that has been miraculous and that issue has cleared up! I also must confess that I did not have a 100% GF week. I was in a bind on Friday and needed a bland snack. All I had near were Tricuits and they were needed….

We did have a great Easter and I hope you all did as well. This past week I made more servings each dinner so there would be plenty of leftovers as we had a busy week.

Monday: Chicken Pasta (Rice Pasta) and Sun dried tomatoes

Tuesday: Spicy Sesame Chicken, fried rice and steamed veggies

Wednesday: Buffett Night

Thursday: Blue cheese burgers with steak fries and veggies

Friday: Buffett Night

Saturday: Burritos

Sunday: Garlic and Rosemary lamb, green bean salad, grilled mushrooms and sun-dried tomatoes, fresh pineapple.

The combination of lamb and pineapple was wonderful. I am going to work on a pineapple chutney next time we have lamb. I  may also top a garlic crosstini with grilled lamb and a pineapple slice.

Grilled Veggies Marinade

2 T Olive Oil

2 T Balsamic Vinegar

2 t Garlic salt

2 t Onion powder

1 1/2 t cracked peppercorns (black, red and green)

Toss with mushrooms and sun-dried tomatoes, let sit for 30 minutes. Make a foil packet for your grill or use a grill safe baking sheet. Grill on medium heat for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. For your larger tomatoes place directly on grill rack for 2 minutes, flipping once. (I love them when they are a tad black)

Garlic and Rosemary Paste for Beef

2 Heads of Garlic

1 T fresh rosemary

1/4 t both, salt and pepper

2 T olive oil

1 T balsamic Vinegar

Peel garlic and cut cloves in half. Place in a foil packet, closing tightly so there is little room for steam to build up. Place on indirect, medium heat for 45 minutes- 1 hour, until they are soft.

Place all of ingredients in a mortar and using your pestle mash and make a paste. Rub all over beef and grill over indirect heat until it reaches desired donesness.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Menu Monday, Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

