Life in the kitchen

I must confess that I have had a hard time getting into the swing of life’s duties since our weekend at the lake. This past week I made old favorites for dinner: pasta, BLT, pizza, grilled chicken…nothing new or too exciting. I am sort of burned out on cooking and this weeks menu will be more of family favorites and easy dinners, I am how ever going to try to reproduce garlic fries from one of my favorite places.

On top of that I do have a lot of work to do in the kitchen. I will be experimenting with sugars; trying to get away from white sugar altogether. I have wanted to do this for sometime but it has been on the back burner for many reasons, mainly it is so easy to grab white sugar and not tweaking measurement when making something quickly and well, I don’t use much of it anyway. I am also going to work on my horseradish and mustard recipes. They have yet to turn out like I want them too. Ketchup may be worked on. I am dying to make my BBQ sauce, I have not had any for a very long time since ketchup is the base. And more vanilla needs to be made.

In other news I have to admit I have not stayed gluten-free. One day I was in desperate need for a snack that was plain and all that was around was a box of Triscuits. However, my issue that corresponded with me eating pasta has cleared up. I had a few other things I changed and no return of my issue, even when I eat pasta or bread. So for now I am not gluten-free, we will see if in the future that may need to change. I do not consume much gluten, no more than 2 times/week at most.

Happy cooking!

 

 

Categories: Life

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

