Menu Monday: Pico & White Queso

Last week I let each child pick dinner for a night. It made menu planning easier. I only had to come up with 2 meals if I have the hubbie choose a dish. Plus, the kids were excited to see what each other chose and ate without issue.

ImageSunday: Ritz Chicken (oldest choice). Since I cannot eat this I grilled my own chicken and ate a salad with it.

Monday: Spaghetti (baby’s choice) I made some homemade baquettes too!

Tuesday: Pizza (Uncle Matt was in town and he requested)

Wednesday: Buffet night, I also fried some chicken to  make sure there was enough for everyone…I made a blue cheese chicken salad!

Thursday: Eggs, biscuits, hash browns and sausage (2nd’s choice) OK, lots of homemade things for this meal and I was so glad to have hubbie’s help.

Friday: Hot dogs and fries (my boy’s choice)

Saturday: Beef tacos, chicken fajita’s, white queso, beans, brownies. (Friends over for the night….good times!)

I also cooked a few things for lunch. My favorite was the Portobello stuffed mushrooms. So tasty & filling. Image

I love Mexican food and  cook it quite often. My favorite is homemade pico. It is so simple and quick to make.

Pico

4 Diced Tomatoes, cut out and toss center and dice remaining.

1/2 red onion, chopped

1 jalapeno, chopped. Remove seeds if you do not like it hot.

Chopped cilantro, to taste. I use about an 1/8 of a cup or less.

1 t black pepper

2 t or more garlic salt, add to your liking.

Stir and chill. Serve with homemade tortillas, top fajita or tacos.

Queso is another favorite. I love to make tortillas and then bake them in the oven until crispy and top with queso.

White Queso

8 oz cream cheese

1/2 diced tomatoes

1/2 c diced green chilis.

Place in a crock pot on low heat. Stir often until cheese melts and serve hot.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Menu Monday, Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

