Menu Monday: Baked Pasta

I hope all you moms had a great and wonderful Mother’s Day yesterday! I sure did. My hubbie and kids brought me breakfast in bed. I love my hubbie for all the time he took to research and find a corn free beignet recipe. Beignets are my absolute favorite! We love and we miss New Orleans, Café de Monde is our favorite place to go and just sit, eat, listen and watch street performers and meet new people. But, now being a corn allergic I cannot go and enjoy the lovely beignets. So I was surprised and felt so loved yesterday when hubbie made some safe one for me. He has cooked dinner. I was not allowed to do anything all day and that was marvelous.

Well now to last weeks menu…

Sunday: Baked chicken and mushroom pasta (SO GOOD!!)

Monday: Steak Frites with blue cheese and mushroom topping with broccoli

Tuesday: Buffet night

Wednesday: Italian Chicken, rice and steamed veggies. (My fam loves chicken marinated in Italian dressing. I used store-bought for them since I had left over piri piri sauce for my chicken)

Thursday: Parmesan crusted chicken with linguine

Friday: Date night. We went to a local Italian Market I can eat a few dishes at after a graduation ceremony.

Saturday: Snack supper; Cheese, crackers, fruit and veggies.

So after eating the baked pasta I just have to share that recipe with you! It was the first time I had made it. I saw the recipe on Pintrest but as I always do I change them up to my liking. I will tell you I love it best as leftovers, so make it today but eat it tomorrow. This makes a large amount so you can eat on it for a few days or invite friends over and have a prompt to dinner party.

Baked Chicken and Mushroom Pasta

1 lb short pasta (penne, bow tie)

6 T butter

Salt & Pepper

4 chicken breasts, chopped and cooked in olive oil

½ c plus 2 T safe flour

6 T garlic, minced (We love garlic around here)

6 c cream (you can use whole milk or a combo of milk and cream)

4 c mushrooms, sliced (or more or less)

1 cup sliced sun dried tomato

3 cups cooked peas or broccoli.

2 c shredded cheese, asiago, parmesan, reggiano (I used what I have on hand, any mixture

1 c parmesan, grated

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cook pasta, just short of al dente, drain and return to pot.

In a skillet add some olive oil and cut chicken, cook until no longer pink. Season with salt and pepper.

In a large saucepan add butter over medium heat. Add flour and garlic, whisk and gradually add milk or cream slowly. Bring to a boil and stir frequently. Add mushrooms and sun dried tomatoes. Slowly add about 1 ½ cups (or more) cheese, slowly stirring to make sure it melts.  Add chicken, veggies and pasta to pot and stir well.

Pour into a greased, shallow baking dish and top with remaining cheese. Place in oven and cook about 25 minutes or until cheese is golden and bubbly. Let stand 5-10 minutes before serving.

Tags: ,

Categories: Menu Monday, Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

