Preparing for a trip

Hope everyone had a great Memorial Day weekend. We had lovely family time. Spent sometime at the pool and I got a free sunburn. OUCH! Despite having on sunscreen I have a few red places. My oldest got to spend sometime in the kitchen baking. She made chocolate chip cookies and last night she made sugar cookies to take to her class. (Only 1.5 days left of school).

Kiddo #2 helped make ice cream. We made vanilla and what we call chocolate chip, but it is more like slivers…the melted chocolate solidifies when adding it to the cream mixture. And, we all made teacher gifts.

Hubbie and I are playing around with infused oils. We have 3 batches of herb infused oils at the moment. We enjoyed one of those with dinner last night as we dipped our homemade baguette in it…it was a nice addition to the spicy chicken salad. I will share those recipes later.

Well, last week nothing great came out of the kitchen. Some simple and easy meals as we were all busy with end of year stuff and appointments, so I will save you from our boring menu. Next week the kids and I are going to my sisters for a few days. My nieces have a ballet program and we cannot wait to see it. In the meantime, sis and I are trying to figure out what I need to take with me as far as food goes. She plans to make corn free meals so I do not have to cook my own dinner. That is so exciting! I loved the fact that when my nieces found out we were coming they were highly concerned about how and what I would eat. Sis will be scouring her local stores to find items needed that are safe so I do not have to pack a big cooler.

Menu and recipes to return next week!

Tags:

Categories: Life

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

