Triple Berry Sorbet

Another week of a boring menu as I made family favorites for dinner. I did get my girls in the kitchen and they enjoyed making cookies and pumpkin bread.

Monday: Burgers, fries, fruit, veggies, ice cream

Tuesday: Steaks, baked potato, veggies

Wednesday: Buffet night

Thursday: Eggs, blueberry muffins and fruit

Friday: Family date night. We  had a fun photo session and went to an Italian cafe for dinner.

Saturday: Tacos

Despite the fact we have plenty of homemade ice cream in the freezer the family is asking for sorbet. My daughter had her birthday party Saturday and we had a good amount of fruit leftover so I figured I’d make sorbet instead of trying to eat it all before it went bad. I used strawberries, blueberries and raspberries. Isn’t it pretty?

The strawberry sorbet was delicious, but I think the triple berry is so good. It is my favorite so far. This is how I made it.

Triple Berry Sorbet

2 lbs each, strawberries & blueberries

1 lb raspberries.

1 1/3 c sugar

1 1/3 c water

Dissolve sugar into water in a small pan over medium heat. Let cool completely. Hull strawberries and process until liquid in a food processor. Strain through a fine  mesh sieve. Process blueberries and raspberries as well and strain through sieve. When sugar-water is cool mix with all of the berry juice, mix well. Freeze. When completely frozen and you are ready to enjoy place frozen fruit juice into your food processor and process until smooth.

Serve and enjoy!

Hubbie added vodka and enjoyed a berry sorbet slush.

Later in the week I head out to see my sister. She found almost all of my safe foods so I do not have to pack a cooler and haul a kitchen to her house. I have just a few items to take like my coffee creamer and milk. I am so excited and so happy she took on the effort to take care of my food needs. It is not often that I can take ca break from menu planning, shopping and cooking. So looking forward to the break and seeing my sweet neices and nephews.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

