Summer means BBQ’ing

One of my favorite foods groups is BBQ. My dad has always made homemade BBQ sauce. I have always loved it. I ate it on chicken, rice, by itself, beef, burgers, pork, beans… After I moved out I would make his sauce and eventually made my own, using his sauce as the base. As the years went on and I served BBQ to friends and co workers word spread and anytime I went to a cookout, potluck I was asked to bring the sauce. It wasn’t a bad gig, we had friends who could grill up a mean pork and hubbie and I loved to make ribs. I have never sold it or entered it into a contest but it quickly went from “The Sauce” to “B’s finger lickin’, lip smackin’, gotta be award winnin’ BBQ sauce.”

So then the corn allergy reared its ugly head and making my sauce went on the far back burner. I used store-bought ketchup and Worcestershire sauce previously and since I was making everything now I just didn’t bother with the sauce…until today!

I found a quick and easy ketchup recipe that is tasty and I have been making Worcestershire sauce for sometime now, I just needed a reason to marry the two. Hubbie being home this year for 4th of July was a prefect reason. (Just wish I had some safe ribs)

So for your summer bbq’ing pleasure here is how I make ketchup and Worcestershire sauce. The BBQ sauce will have to wait. Today it was a dump recipe and although it is good it needs work…but I will share some great ingredients to use to make a tasty sauce.

Worcestershire Sauce

  • 1 c apple cider vinegar
  • 4 T water
  • 4T soy sauce (I use Organic Tamari Soy)
  • 2 T brown sugar
  • 1/2 t garlic powder
  • 1/2 t dry mustard
  • 1/2 t onion powder
  • 1/2 t ginger
  • Dash of pepper and cinnamon (about 1/8 t each.)

Mix all ingredients in a saucepan over medium heat. Combine well and bring to a boil. Let simmer about 1 minute, turn off heat and let cool.

I use this all the time, I marinate burgers and steaks in it and warm some to pour over cooked meats.

Ketchup

  • 1 1/2 c tomato paste
  • 1/2 c sweetener (this recipe I used honey, sugar or agave syrup work as well)
  • 1 c apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 c water
  • 2 t sea salt
  • 1/2 t onion powder
  • 1/2 t garlic powder
  • Combine all in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Let simmer for 20-30 minutes. Once cooled store in the refrigerator.

The ketchup is a tad sweeter than I remember store-bought. It has a tang to it but not as much of one. I believe the ACV is the culprit. The basic sauce base is 1 c ketchup and 1/3 c Worcestershire sauce. Minced garlic is a must, I love garlic so I add quite a bit. Due to the sweetness of this I added a horseradish mustard and quite a bit of pepper sauce. Next go round I am going to try white wine vinegar. When I get my sauce the way I LOVE LOVE LOVE it I will share.

Let me know how your sauce comes out and if you prefer spicy or sweet BBQ sauce. Tomorrow I will rub chicken with sea salt and minced garlic, then marinate in the sauce and grill. I will also warm up some sauce to top then chicken when plated.

Have a happy and safe 4th of July!!!!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The great creamy caesar dressing search | The Corn Free Kitchen - September 10, 2012

    […] 3/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce […]

  2. BBQ Sauce | The Corn Free Kitchen - March 7, 2014

    […] you need to make some Worcestershire Sauce and if you do not have a safe ketchup make your own. A ketchup recipe can be found here too. […]

Leave a Reply

