Even more BBQ goodies!

The last week has been a whirlwind of activity. After our July 4th celebrations we hit the road again for another weekend trip. That meant cleaning up one kitchen mess to create another as I made food to take. But before we get to snack foods I  must share with you my potato salad recipe.

It has been a few years since I ate potato salad. I grew up on the traditional egg, mustard and salad dressing recipe. Not exactly corn free friendly. But that is OK because what I made last week makes me forget about that same ol plain potato salad. (Oh, and the BBQ sauce from last week was incredible! The flavors needed to  marry overnight)

Our BBQ spread was delish and I am so glad I worked out my BBQ sauce.

We devoured BBQ chicken, fresh carrots, broccoli and tomatoes with homemade ranch dip, loaded potato salad, fresh pineapple and enjoyed homemade ice cream with homemade chocolate syrup and fresh-baked cookies for dessert. MMM Good!

 

 

Loaded Potato Salad

3 pounds potatoes, cubed

8 slices bacon (I seem to be OK with Pederson’s, it is so tasty)

1 c cheddar cheese, shredded

1 1/2 c condiment (recipe below)

Salt & Pepper

Chives, chopped (optional)

Cook bacon as directed on package and then crumble.

Boil potatoes just before fork tender, about 2o minutes. Drain and let cool just a little bit.

Combine all the ingredients with the potatoes while potatoes are warm. Serve warm.

It is just as good cold but I love it warm, not hot, just warm.

Condiment

I have no name for this, universal spread maybe better since I use it on many things.

8 oz organic cream cheese, softened

8 oz sour cream

Garlic salt

Onion Powder

Using a hand mixer combine cream cheese and sour cream until smooth and fluffy. Sprinkle in garlic salt and onion powder and mix well.

Note: The garlic salt and onion powder is a taste preference. I have never measured them but I am guessing I use no less than 1 teaspoon of each.

Road Trip snacking….

This trip I knew I could get fruit, veggies, yogurt and meats where I was going. I whipped up some pumpkin bread and pita chips with humus.

The pita chips were great and I loved the spicy humus but I would prefer a less chewy chip and a bit more crunchy. So there is still work to be done but as long as I eat the pita chips within a day or two they are still yummy. All the short trips have been a good teaching tool. We are going to my parents at Christmas  and I am learning what travels well and how long some things last so I know how much to  make at one time. the pita chips are a definite sooner the better. Anyway, come Christmas the big cooler will be packed with all sorts of foods to take to moms.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Holiday Cooking, Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

