My favorite salad!

What a busy summer! We did not plan all the activity but we sure have had a ton of fun.

I am ready to taking a cooking break but we all know that is not gonna happen. As a family we are ready for different foods or revisiting old favorites for a change. With the busyness and on the go the last few weeks we have not had a lot of variety. School starts in a week and a half here, while I am sad to see the summer go and not have the full, lazy, fun with my kids and hitting the road together I am looking forward to a schedule and a little bit of a slow down that the school schedule insists on. But not before one last long and fun weekend with some of the best people we know. The fab 4 arrive tomorrow and I cannot wait. We all love to cook, we love food, comfort food and we love cooking it and eating it together. So much fun is to be had in the kitchen the next 3 days. So excited!!!

So on to a recipe. It has been awhile since I have posted one and this one can be a meal all by itself. In fact I ate it for as my dinner 2 nights ago and tonight it was a side to my scrambled eggs and berries. Such a filling dinner without any guilt of carbs or fat. Sorry I do not have a picture for this one… halfway through dinner I realized I did not grab a shot.

Black Bean Avocado Salad

15 oz. black beans, rinsed and drained

2 chopped green chilis, chopped

1 avocado, chopped

1  cucumber, chopped

2 tomatoes, chopped

1 jalapeño, chopped

1 t lime juice

Add to a large bowl and mix well.

Dressing:

2 T apple cider vinegar

1 T olive oil

1 t cumin

½ t dried oregano

¼ t sea salt

1/4 t  pepper

Whisk together. Pour over veggies and stir well. Refrigerate for 1 hour before serving.

Happy cooking and eating!

Tags:

Categories: Life, Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

