Basil, basil and more basil

This past summer I planted 3 basil plants. They have grown into small trees so this past weekend I decided to harvest most of it. I dried basil and made pesto. Both are super easy and quick and your house will smell so good!!

I still have one plant that has quite a bit of leaves on it. My other 2 look quite sad now but I am hoping for them to grow quickly and be bountiful again.

To dry your basil:

Wash it, trim off stems and dry it either with your salad spinner or laying it flat on paper towels.

You can line baking sheets with parchment paper. Although I found this pointless. The leaves did not stick to the pan.

Turn your oven to the lowest temperature, place your pans in the oven and leave for a couple of hours.

The basil will crumble in your hands when it is done. Place in a jar and store.

I have a gas stove so I set it to 170 degrees and propped the door with a wooden spoon. It took about 2 hours.

Basil Pesto:

This is a dump recipe so I do not measure, make it to your liking.

In your food processor add the washed and towel dried basil, add minced garlic and extra virgin olive oil. Process until smooth.

I had about 6 cups fresh basil so I added maybe 8 T of garlic and enough EVOO to make it a liquid consistency. (The yield was about 4 pints pesto)

Store in an air tight container and place in your fridge or freezer.

 

Tags: , ,

Categories: Baking & Cooking, Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

