Pop Tarts

Do your kids beg you for the sugar filled, boxed food at the grocery? My kiddos ask for them often, of course believing the commercials claiming to be filled with fruit. Well, this past weekend I decided to make them some. It is very easy. I used Weelicious’s recipe.

They were a big hit. I made a raspberry and a blueberry batch and we placed them in individual bags and tossed them into the freezer when they were cooked and cooled. (Pay no mind to the appearance, hubbie is the cake decorator in the family). I love that it is real fruit and no white sugar. There is just 1 Tablespoon honey in the filling recipe but I don’t think you really need it. I had lots of frosting left over. I had a lot of juice from the fruit I did not want to waste so we have plenty frosting to use on other treats. I think the raspberry will be fabulous on some brownies! Due to the amount of fruit juice we had I did not need the tablespoon milk the frosting recipe calls for.

I had one lonely pop tart without filling so I whipped up a butter, brown sugar and cinnamon mixture to fill it. This was the favorite for all so the next patch will be brown sugar and cinnamon.

I made my own crust, the same recipe I use for pies and it turned out fabulous! The recipe is simple and not time-consuming. I made 4 batches in just a couple of hours. If you want to make your own crust and need a recipe here is mine.

Pie Crust

2 cups Flour

2/3 cup shortening (I use Spectrum brand)

1 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 c Water

Cut shortening into flour with a fork, add water and stir. Roll out thin onto a floured surface. Cut out desired shapes.

If making a pie divide dough in half, roll out to a circle that will fit in your pie dish. Place in a greased pie dish and form to pan. Use the second circle to place on top of your filling, make a few cuts in the top, brush with milk and bake accordingly.

Enjoy! I think theses will be fun to use with holiday cookie cutters for festive treats and the filling possibilities are endless.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Baking & Cooking, Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Pop Tarts”

  1. ROnda hamersley
    October 25, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

    i WOULD LIKE TI TRY THIS RECIPIE, HOW DID YOU DO YOU FILLING?

    • Bronwyn
      October 25, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

      I used an electric hand mixer to whip the cream cheese and raspberries together until it was a spreadable consistency. It was 2 ounces cream cheese and maybe 1/4 c of berries.

Leave a Reply

