Long distance running and fuel

One of my most favorite things to do is to run. I love it! I enjoy being on the road with my music and thoughts in the wee hours of the morning. I love the feeling after a good run, whether it was a fast run, hard run or a run I had to really push myself to make it back home. It has been 21 months since I ran my last marathon. I am itching to get another one on the calendar. Not sure when that will be our schedule has been quite crazy! Not to mention when hubbie travels I am forced to run on the hamster wheel (treadmill) more than I want. I really cannot stand it….But until I decide when and what race I want to sign up for I am looking into the best corn free options for fuel during those long weekend runs. For me that is anything over 9 miles. I know I can carb load the night before and run 9 miles without feeling depleted and drained.

I prefer only water to drink while running but a little more is required depending on how far I go and the weather. The hotter it is the more I lose and need to replenish. I came across this great electrolyte drink recipe that will give you some needed sugar and salt. It can also be used as a post run drink.

Re-hydrate Drink

1 quart warm water

2-3 lemons, juiced

1/3 cup honey

1/2 t sea salt

Mixed until ingredients are dissolved and chill.

I think a quick and easy choice for fuel on a run are raisins and honey. Dried fruit is quickly digested into glucose, something your body needs when on a long run. The thing I like about raisins is that they are small and won’t take much room in my water pack. Honey, has different types of sugars which gives you a combination of fast and slow absorption carbohydrates for sustained energy. Here is a great article on honey as running fuel.

My favorite carb loading meal is pancakes or waffles with maple syrup and eggs on the side. Sometimes I will add blueberries to my pancakes.  This meal provides adequate carbs and proteins and is easy on the stomach. I make plenty so I have at least 1 pancake to grab out of the fridge and eat the next morning before my run. Some mornings I am literally eating the pancake as I take my first few steps of my run.

Pancakes

1 1/2 cups flour

2 Tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon cream of tartar

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1 1/4 cups milk

2 eggs

1 Tablespoon oil

Mix well and cook on a greased skillet over medium high heat. Flipping once.

Post run I love a good smoothie. It has to be cold and thick. If I have run 10 or more miles I usually have a handful or two of peanuts as well.

Fruit Smoothie

1 cup plain yogurt

1 cup orange juice

1 cup frozen berries

2 Tablespoons Salba seed

Process in a blender until thoroughly mixed.

Any other marathoners out there? What do you use that is corn free pre/post and during a long run?

 

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Life, Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Long distance running and fuel”

  1. Valerie
    January 10, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

    I just found your blog when I googled corn-free food for marathons. So glad to hear someone is out there doing it. I’ve only ever run one marathon and that was before I ever figured out corn. The gatorade and energy gel packs certainly messed up my digestive system back then so as I am contemplating a marathon with corn-free fuel foods and drinks, your blog is most helpful. Your gatorade replacement drink sounds simple and perfect. The raisins wouldn’t work for me since I haven’t found any corn-free dried fruits, (or it could be the sulfites that bother me). I could maybe do dried mulberries though! I was wondering about making homemade potato chips with extra salt. I knew a doctor who ran across the Sahara Desert and they used chips and water, in lieu of gatorade. If I do commit to run the marathon, I’ll be curious to ask you your favorite corn-free foods to carb-load on for the day and night prior.

  2. Bronwyn
    January 10, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

    Yay, another runner! Glad this has been helpful. I did a half marathon in November jsut carb loaded with pancakes and tried the cliff shot blocks. They are iffy at but did not have honey sticks on hand and just took ate 1 block. I did fine. I traveled to VA to run and I did not plan well nor pack running fuel. I was too excited to see my brother and researching where to buy safe foods I would need while there. THis winter/spring I am going to experiment with other types of fuel and see how it goes. I will let you know the results.

Leave a Reply

