I like big buns…

…And I cannot lie, no other brother can deny…. You are welcome for the song you have stuck in your head now 🙂

A couple of months ago I made these hamburger buns. While they were good they had more of a dinner roll taste. Plus, it was good to have a bun with my pattie so I could use my hands to eat. Last night i made more buns using a different recipe I found on King Arthur Flour’s webpage. These are simple enough to make. Click on link or see below for recipe.

The buns look huge but are just right, some of my smaller patties didn’t fill the bun but the bread is good you will eat the leftovers anyway. The bottoms got a little too brown but it was not crunchy o hard at all. Next time I may take them out of the oven a minute or two sooner.

Buns

3/4 to 1 cup lukewarm water 2 tablespoons butter 1 large egg 3 1/2 cups King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour 1/4 cup sugar 1 1/4 teaspoons salt 1 tablespoon instant yeast *For best results (a smooth, slightly soft dough), use the smaller amount of water in summer (or in a humid environment), the greater amount in winter (or in a dry climate); and something in between the rest of the time.

Topping 3 tablespoons melted butter

Directions

1) Mix and knead all of the dough ingredients — by hand, mixer, or bread machine — to make a soft, smooth dough.

2) Cover the dough, and let it rise for 1 to 2 hours, or until it’s nearly doubled in bulk.

3) Gently deflate the dough, and divide it into 8 pieces. Shape each piece into a round ball; flatten to about 3″ across. Place the buns on a lightly greased or parchment-lined baking sheet, cover, and let rise for about an hour, until noticeably puffy.

4) Brush the buns with about half of the melted butter.

5) Bake the buns in a preheated 375°F oven for 15 to 18 minutes, until golden. Remove them from the oven, and brush with the remaining melted butter. This will give the buns a satiny, buttery crust.

6) Cool the buns on a rack.

Yield: 8 large buns.

The kids thought they were a hit and I have 4 in the freezer for another day.

I loved dinner last night! Having a great bun, yummy ketchup, home cooked fries was so good. I wanted a carbonated drink so bad…I even took a risk last night and tried Colman’s English Mustard. I have no idea where they source the citric acid but I wanted a spicy mustard on that bun so I added a little. No noticeable issues.

Anyone else eat Colman’s? I am going to email and call them to get more info so I can see if it is something I can eat more often.

Tags: ,

Categories: Baking & Cooking, Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hot Dog Buns | The Corn Free Kitchen - January 15, 2014

    […] also use their hamburger bun recipe and love it and I have to say this hot dog bun recipe is fabulous too. The buns come out soft […]

  2. A Better Burger Bun | The Corn Free Kitchen - March 4, 2014

    […] last night I made hamburger buns with the same recipe and I love it much better than the old recipe I was […]

Leave a Reply

