It takes work to relax

relaxYesterday we arrived at my parents house for the weekend and a can’t miss graduation on Tuesday. Not being at home means I had lots of work to do for the trip.

I planned my meals well ahead of time and made sure they were easy yet savory. BUT, I have yet to get use to the days of prep before a trip just for my food. I have done this countless times and I seem to hate it more each time. HOWEVER, I am at my moms and am not cooking for anyone and have enjoyed the carefree relaxation.

I pre cooked lots of chicken, made dressings, Tzatziki sauce, washed and packaged fruit and made croutons, pumpkin bread and granola bars. I also brought yogurt, cottage cheese and hard-boiled eggs.

Hopefully by the time we get home I will have felt rested from meal planning and cooking and ready to dive back into the grind… I sort of need to be, hosting dinner for some of hubbie’s co-workers.

Due to all the pre-trip work I have not made anything new or exciting. The summer is pretty open, schedule wise and I plan to get creative in the kitchen and stock pile things in the freezer. That’s the plan… as long as I don’t let easy dinners and the pool take over my life!!

Categories: Life

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “It takes work to relax”

  1. May 19, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

    Hope you enjoy your summer and you make some wonderful recipes to share. I’ll be looking forward to trying some out 🙂

    • Bronwyn
      May 20, 2013 at 9:02 am #

      Thank you, it’s motivating to stay creative in the kitchen when you know others will enjoy the fruits of your labor.

  2. May 20, 2013 at 8:11 am #

    Trip prep is usually my undoing, but I have to do it times 4 which includes 2 little ones! Our last trip took a week of prep to be gone for 4 days and a week to recover. We’ve decided to put trips on-hold for awhile. Kudos on being able to relax & enjoy!

    • Bronwyn
      May 20, 2013 at 9:05 am #

      Always nice to know you are not alone in your struggle. it sucks though…. if my kids were any younger I can’t imagine the extra stress I would feel prepping. Soon enough at least 2 of them will be put on cooking duty 🙂

Leave a Reply

