Double Chocolate Banana Muffins

Sorry I have not been posting in a while. I have been in a cooking rut. Although I have been doing some baking…it is more fun to bake goodies than to plan menus and cook a meal.

Last week I have loads of bananas that needed to be used but cannot get my kids to eat traditional banana bread even if I put in chocolate chips for them. So this time I added cocoa so it resembled a chocolate muffin and they gobbled them up and had no idea. In fact one of my daughters said she could see a chunk of applesauce. (I use applesauce in place of oil in most of my baking). I shook my head and laughed since this time I used oil and well it was  a chunk of banana. Goes to show you she thought it was just a chocolate muffin.

cocoa banana muffinDouble Chocolate Banana Bread

1 1/2 c flour

1/4 c cocoa

3/4 t cream of tartar

 1/2 + 1/8 t baking soda

 1/4t cinnamon

 1 egg

 1 c mashed bananas

 3/4 c sugar

 1/4 c oil or applesauce

 1/2 -1 c chocolate chips (optional)

 Mix egg, bananas, sugar and oil well, add in remaining dry ingredients mix thoroughly. Stir in chocolate chips. Pour in a greased bread pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes.

Tags: ,

Categories: Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

