Habenero Sauce

I love hot and spicy foods. I can eat what most cannot in terms of heat levels. I love to eat Thai chili peppers by themselves. Growing up my mom made Bottled Hell. It is hot and having a glass of milk near by is a good idea when eating lots of it. I miss hot wings and I have tried many versions of hot sauce and each batch bombed, my liquid proportions were always off. However, a few weeks ago in the corn allergy FB group Christine shared her recipe for hot sauce. She used hot red peppers for her sauce, I chose to use Habanero’s as I was looking for some intense heat. Below is her recipe the way I made it. This next week or so I am hoping to whip up some chipotle hot sauce using the same recipe as a guide.

habenero sauceMouth Grenade FIRE Sauce

30 Habanero peppers, stemmed
1/4 c lemon juice
3/4 c rice vinegar
1 c apple cider vinegar
large pinch of sea salt

Boil in a saucepan over medium heat until liquid is reduced by at least half.

Pour into a blender or food processor and process until smooth.

Strain seeds through a fine mesh strainer, let cool and store in an airtight container.

**I did not strain the seeds and love it. I cannot eat large quantities at one time. My next batch I will strain the seeds and use less peppers so it will be a good sauce to toss fried chicken with a little less heat.

CAUTION: THIS IS HOT!

Open a window, use ventilation if needed. My husband is not a hot sauce kinda guy, definitely not as hot as I like it and he couldn’t be in the kitchen until the sauce was completed and in the fridge.

If you want an insanely hot, fire sauce do not strain the seeds. You need very little on your food to get the intense heat. A little goes a long way.

Tags: ,

Categories: Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chilly nights with a hot bowl of Chili | The Corn Free Kitchen - November 9, 2013

    […] I do fine with Westbrae Natural Organic Kidney Beans and I make my own hot sauce. One batch will feed my family of 6 […]

Leave a Reply

