Long Run carb loading and fuel

carb loadI am in the midst of marathon training. I have a half marathon in January and this weekend was the beginning of my long runs, which are 10 or more miles. This means I need a well balanced carb and protein dinner the night before and good sources of fuel during my run.

My favorite pre run meals is waffles and eggs.  It is easy on the stomach so you don’t have to worry about any sick feelings while running and no bathroom issues to deal with. You do want to stay away from a lot of dairy and acidic foods (tomatoes) before a long run. These will not be kind to your stomach and you may need to have a good bathroom stop on your route.

Blueberry Buttermilk Waffles

1 ¾ c flour

1 ¼ t baking soda

 ½ t cream of tartar

½ t sea salt

1/3 c oil

2 c buttermilk

2 eggs

1 c (+) fresh blueberries

Mix all dry ingredients.  Add wet ingredients.

Stir until well combined, fold in blueberries.

Pour into waffle maker and cook. Top with fresh fruit or maple syrup.

Fuel on a long run

The next morning I ate a yogurt and 1 cold waffle prior to my run. I packed some organic raisins and orange slices in my water pack. About 5 1/2 miles in a ate about 2 Tablespoons of raisins and I ate the orange after the 10 mile run. I had no tummy issues and plenty of energy without hunger pains during the run. I plan to continue the raisins and oranges in  my training being careful I do not eat too many raisins and need a bathroom before I get home.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

