Egg Rolls

chinese 2I love Chinese food! I miss going out to a really good Chinese place and having dinner. But, over the last couple of years I have taken upon myself to make some tasty Chinese foods the entire family loves and that are pretty close to what a restaurant will serve.

My latest endeavor has been Egg Rolls. I have made them twice and all 6 of us have LOVED LOVED LOVED them. I hoard leftovers and threaten my kids with grounding if they eat them :). I figure since they can stop at a take out place to get them they shouldn’t eat all of the safe ones I slaved over. Right?! I do have to say having a sous chef is a great help when making them. It will feel like less work. My husband was happy to roll out the egg roll wrappers and help with the fried rice while I made the Thai Chili Chicken and Sweet and Sour Chicken for our Chinese buffet a few weeks ago. I am planning on making this meal this next week.

chineseEgg Roll Wrappers

Food.com

1 egg, lightly beaten

2 c flour

1 t sea salt

1/2 c cold water

Combine all ingredients to make a dough then let rest for 5-10 minutes.

Knead until dough is smooth, divide into 16 pieces.

Roll each piece into 6×6 square. Stack using wax paper in between.

 

My husband found that the pasta roller attachment on our mixer did a great job. He passed each wrapper through 3 times, each time tightening the rollers.

chinese4Egg Roll Filling

My sister-in-law’s recipe

2 c chopped cabbages and carrots. you can use red, white cabbage any veggies you might make slaw with.

2 c chopped and cooked chicken or other meat. (this is optional veggie egg rolls are just as tasty.)

Place in a large container and coat with soy sauce evenly. you do not want it to be runny, just coated without the sauce pooling.

Place in fridge to marinate for at least an hour.

To fill wrappers place about 1/4 c veggie mixture in the middle then fold in sides and seal with a little water.

Fry in a skillet over high heat, flipping once, until golden brown. Drain and serve.

Dipping Sauce

allrecipes.com

3 T soy sauce

3 T rice vinegar

1/8 t sesame oil

1 t ground ginger

1/2 t garlic powder

1/2 t onion powder

Combine everything, mix well and refrigerate.

 

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baked Egg Rolls | Cooking Is My Sport - February 18, 2014

    […] Egg Rolls […]

Leave a Reply

