Creme Brulee

IMG_3905Recently I got a kitchen torch! YAY! So naturally I had to make crème brulee. I had this crock pot recipe I found online sometime ago…

(sorry I printed it and there is not a note as to whose it is or what website…)

creme bruleeCrock Pot Crème Brulee

1 1/2 c heavy cream

1/2 c whole milk

6 egg yolks

1/4 t sea salt

1/3 c sugar

1 1/2 t vanilla

4t sugar for torching

Whisk all but last ingredient until sugar is dissolved.

Place 4 ramekins in your crock pot and add  1 1/2- 2 cups water to the bottom of your crock pot. Pour mixture into ramekins, dividing evenly. Cook on low heat 2-3 hours.

Carefully remove ramekins and let cool in refrigerator for 1-2 hours. Once chilled cover with plastic wrap and leave in fridge. When ready to serve remove from fridge and sprinkle with sugar and torch until sugar is caramelized.

** Notes: I did not caramelize my sugar enough. This was good but it is a very strong egg dish. I don’t plan on making this exact recipe again. it needs work for my taste… less egg. Cutting it down to 3 eggs would be a start. I am looking forward to finding the right concoction for myself and my family and experimenting with other flavors like chocolate, coffee…

Tags: ,

Categories: Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

