Cheesy Discs

cooked cheesy discsMy kids love Goldfish, although they have no allergy to them I refuse to buy them due to the preservatives, autolyzed yeast and other junk in them. So yesterday my 2 older girls pitched in and helped make our own.

This is a super simple recipe I found at Tasty Kitchen. I used my food processor but a mixer should work just fine.

Cheesy Discs

8 ounces shredded cheddar (by weight)

4 Tablespoons butter, cubed

1 cup flour

3/4 teaspoon sea salt

2 Tablespoons Cold water

Add all but water to the food processor and process until ingredients look like coarse sand. Slowly add the water and process until it forms a dough. Wrap in plastic and chill for 20 minutes. Roll on a floured surface and cut into desired shapes. Place on baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

cutting the cheese  discs on pan

 

Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.

cheese in oven

I used an apple core to cut our shapes. I do not have small/tiny cookie cutters and I wanted uniform shapes so a pizza cutter would not have been my friend on this. I think the core is a perfect size for such a tasty snack item. But choose your favorite shape and size, just have fun with it.

Everyone loves them, they taste so good!! My oldest loves them so much she says she is more than happy to always make a batch! Double win for me!

Tags: , ,

Categories: Recipes

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Cheesy Discs”

  1. July 23, 2015 at 9:22 am #

    Hi! I don’t have a corn allergy myself, but my breastfed baby seems to have some sort of reaction to corn (an IgE test says no allergy, but that doesn’t change what happens in his diaper when he or I eat things with corn in them). He’s getting old enough for finger foods and starting to reject purees so I’m looking for things like these crackers to give him. I’ve noticed on a couple of your recipes you’ve mentioned making things for your kids, so does that mean these recipes are not safe for yourself, or did you make them with a cheese that you haven’t had a problem with yourself? And if that’s the case is it store bought cheese or is it something you buy local or online? We haven’t tried to introduce dairy yet because it’s so corny I’ve been afraid. Thanks! 🙂

    • Bronwyn
      July 23, 2015 at 10:06 am #

      If I bake or cook anything it is safe for me. Even treats I make for the kids that most normally buy from the store I make safe for myself. I may not eat them regularly but I like to try them and know there are safe snacks for me on hand in a pinch. Plus, I like knowing that my kids are eating real foods not chemicals. Even the things I buy for them I cannot eat are GMO free, organic etc…
      All recipes I post here are used with safe ingredients for myself and corn free. However, there are some ingredients I use that not all corn allergics can use due to sensitivity, or other allergies. With so many corn derivatives that can cause different reactions for everyone it can be a tricky allergy to deal with.

      I use the Tillamook extra sharp cheddar that I get at Costco in a large block. I have had no issues with that cheese. Other cheeses are block forms of parmesan, mozzarella, and goat cheeses that has no other ingredients.

      Pita bread is dairy free and you can always cut in and bake a second time to get it to a cracker hardness. Good luck for you and your son, feel free to ask any questions anytime.

Leave a Reply

